Choke on Sunshine

We always want sunshine but He knows there must also be rain

Love is the Answer

leave a comment »

Having a little break from studying here, but I’m just kidding ’cause I haven’t been studying despite my previous post. *is ashamed*

This is pretty random, perhaps unlike myself too, but I posted this (a shorter version) back in my blogspot:

God fixes a passionate desire in you,
and then disappoints you.
God does that a hundred times!

God breaks the wings of one intention
and then gives you another,
cuts the rope of contriving,
so you’ll remember your dependence.

But sometimes your plans work out!
You feel fulfilled and in control.

That’s because, if you were always failing,
you might give up. But remember,
it is by failures that lovers
stay aware of how they are loved.

Failure is the key
to the kingdom within.

– Rumi

The original version is a lot longer but the above struck me as the most interesting (okay not really, I just didn’t get the rest of the text).

I hope I’m right with this one but I understand it as how God keeps testing our faith, how God can put motivation in us and how God can also take it away as easily. By “motivation”, I mean any (good) kind of motivation: motivation to learn, motivation to pray, etc. And God does it for good reasons too (obviously). Probably similar to when people say that when bad things happen, it’s just God’s way of telling us that we’re going in the wrong direction.

Written by zimin175

April 28, 2011 at 1:53 PM

Posted in Food for thought

Leave a Reply

